Blacksburg, VA.

July 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

I am lucky enough to come to Blacksburg once a month for my job.  For some reason, my trip this week has left me feeling so nostalgic.  I was so lucky to have been able to spend 4 years of my life here.  I took some time this afternoon and evening to drive around town to some of my favorite spots, including around campus (I miss it soooo much!!!).  Here are some of the reasons why I love this town:

-When you look around from basically anywhere you can see the beautiful landscape of the mountains.  It really makes me realize that I want to live near mountains one day.

-The summers here are so relaxing, and much cooler (and less humid) than most parts of Virginia.  I spent two summers here during college and couldn’t have been happier.

-The quaint downtown area that boasts a farmer’s market as well as many local restaurants, shops, and bars is right on the edge of campus.  And although most of the places are small, you can be sure to find somewhere F-U-N.  Big Al’s, TOT’s, Gillie’s, and Mill Mountain Coffee are some of my favorite spots*.

-Football.  Ok, you all knew this was coming.  But, if you haven’t been to a game here it is quite THE experience.

{So true}

{I always love driving by this}

{Where all the magic happens}

*Other favorite spots not located downtown include Macado’s (I could eat here everyday) and Carol Lee Donuts (my old roommate and I used to walk there and then reward ourselves with fresh donuts, hey at least its exercise!).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blacksburg, VA. at .

meta

