Relax.

July 18, 2011 § 1 Comment

Its very rare that I feel stressed, or ‘burnt out’ as some people call it.  However, this weekend made me realize that I might be in need of a little relaxation time.  Sometimes its easy to get caught up in the routine of life without stopping to take a minute to breathe.  It got me thinking about what things I like to do to relax and clear my head.  I’ve never been a spa person; I’ve never even had a massage (I know, I know I’m missing out).  Maybe that will change, but for now, here are a few simple things I do to relax…

~Paint my nails.  I know it sounds silly, but I just love doing it.  I always feel pampered with a fresh, new color on my nails 🙂

~Go out to eat by myself.  I always used to feel sorry for people when I saw them eating out alone.  But, after being forced to do this a lot when I’m traveling for work, I started to enjoy it.  Now I choose to do this sometimes even when I’m not working, and it is very refreshing to sit and enjoy a meal in silence.

~Cooking/baking.  Ok.  Now I don’t pretend to be Giada or Rachel, but something about cooking up a yummy meal for great friends just makes me so happy.  And anything involving dessert brings an instant smile to my face.

~Read a book that makes me think.  For a long time I was stuck on the ‘chicklet’ novels with simple, easy to read stories that didn’t require much thought.  Lately though, I’ve been reading books that inspire me.  (My current favorite below.)

~Go for a run.  Some days this is anything but relaxing, like the days where I have no energy and the thought of running even 1 mile makes me want to cry.  But, most days I crank up my iPod (which has tunes on it anywhere from Zac Brown to 50 Cent, I’m so weird I know) and by the end of my run I feel like I could solve all the world’s problems, including my own.

What is your favorite thing to do to relax? xoxo

§ One Response to Relax.

  • Mary says:

    You should try reading the hunger games series….it’s really good, I just finished it. It’s definitely not something I would have picked myself but I really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Relax. at .

meta

