Before & After: Nightstands.

July 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

My brother is in the final stages of painting and furnishing his new house and asked for my help with the guest room, or ‘my room’ as he sweetly calls it :).  He just finished painting it an awesome mocha color (that I might have picked out), and he already had a bed for the room but no other furniture.  He spent a lot of money on furnishing the other rooms in the house, including all new kitchen appliances, so I knew this room would have to be done on a budget.  (I’m going to post pictures and prices once we get the room finished)

The first thing I wanted to get were nightstands.  I knew I wanted to find something white and looked around online but nothing was quite the right look or the right price.  So, I decided to go to the thrift store.  I found these and I knew instantly they would be perfect.  The best part?  They were only $14.99 each.

The wood was in nearly perfect condition so they didn’t need to be sanded down at all.  When I started out I thought I was going to make them look vintage, so I painted them chocolate brown with the leftover paint I had from re-doing my dresser.

Next I painted 2 coats of a semi-glossy white over the chocolate brown.  Once this dried, I decided they looked so great that I didn’t want to distress them at all.  They looked really modern in the bright white and thought it would be the perfect contrast to the wall color.

Next I had to find knobs.  I went all over the place with my last stop being Anthropologie, which of course had exactly what I was looking for.  At $8 each they were a little pricey, but I think it was worth it!

Finally I lined the drawers with the leftover contact paper I had from my dresser.  All done!

Cost:

$30 for nightstands

$11 for white paint

$16 for knobs

Total: $57

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Before & After: Nightstands. at .

meta

