Granny Chair

February 16, 2011 § 1 Comment

I found this chair for $14 at Goodwill.  While I found it quite hideous in its original state, I saw potential.  I loved the lines of the chair and thought it would be the perfect addition to my room.  Here is the before:

I removed the seat part of the chair using a hammer (I’m so rugged these days).  Then I spray painted the chair a glossy white.

Next, I went to the fabric store and got foam for the seat and a really cool, printed fabric.  After that I went to Home Depot and got a piece of wood which I had cut to match using the old seat as the pattern.

The last step was to finish the seat.  I tightly wrapped the fabric around the wood and the foam (with help) and used a staple gun to attach it.  Then I trimmed the extra fabric and attached the seat back to the chair.  I’m so happy with the finished product!

Materials:

Chair, $14

Fabric, $4

Foam, $6

Wood, $6

Spray paint, $4

Total: $34

§ One Response to Granny Chair

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Granny Chair at .

meta

