Before & After: Room Renovation

February 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

PART 1:  Walls, Bedding, and Lamps

After living with walls the worst shade of pea green for WAY too long, I decided to finally do something about it.  And I didn’t just stop at the walls.  I wanted to brighten up the whole space and make it more ‘me’.  But, I wanted to do it all myself, and of course, at a bargain.  Here is the before picture:

I started by choosing a light, sunny yellow for the walls.  It is very happy and inviting; which is exactly what I wanted!  I used the Behr ‘Paint and Primer In One’ from Home Depot in color Banana Split (the picture below makes it look very yellow but its actually very light).  I’m proud to say I did all of the taping and most of the painting myself.  My room is huge so this was no easy task!

I knew the next thing I wanted to change was my bedding.  I wanted this comforter but but didn’t want to pay quite that much.  So, I scoured every TJMaxx, Marshall’s, Ross, and Home Goods I could think of.  I ended up finding the exact one I wanted on the clearance aisle at TJMaxx for only $59!  That included pillow shams and cases.  I added some fun pillows from Home Goods ($16.99 each) and am so happy with the way it looks with the wall color!

The next thing I did was look for new lamps.  I felt like the ones I had were too dark for my nightstands and the new wall color.  I found this one and fell in love but decided to shop around a little first.  I went to Target (where else??) and ended up finding a very similar one for $49.99!

 

§ 3 Responses to Before & After: Room Renovation

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Before & After: Room Renovation at .

meta

